Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Windows 8 Development

Something I had intended to do while I was working on my first Windows Phone app was to keep track of web sites/pages/blogs that were helping me along the way, as well as snippets of knowledge that I figured out to solve a problem.

Well, that didn’t happen, did it!?!?

So, now that the first Phone app is done and dusted, I’m turning my attention to my first “Modern UI” app (or whatever Microsoft are calling this week). The app will rely on a database, something that isn’t supported natively by Windows 8, so that is where I’m starting.

The proposed solution for programmers requiring a database is SQLite. This, like SQL CE, is not a client/server solution but is, instead, providing database-aspects on top of a single file. From what I’ve read about SQLite, it looks to be a big improvement over SQL CE so I can see why Microsoft are recommending it rather than baking their own.

To get started, I’m following the instructions in a blog posting by Tim Heuer. He documents the steps required to install SQLite then configure your project to use the DLL then incorporate a LINQ wrapper.

I can see that I’ve got quite a learning curve ahead of me, though. Apart from anything else, moving from an environment where you can build for “Any CPU” to one where you have to essentially build three times (x86, x64 and ARM) means learning more about Visual Studio (some might say I ought to know these bits anyway) and more testing/debugging.

Fun times ahead!

 

4 responses to “Windows 8 Development

  1. carlPerkins September 14, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    I believe C# is out for sqllite – you have to use C++. bummer.

Leave a Reply

