Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

WP7 Apps on my phone – what’s in and what’s out

A few weeks ago, I put together a list of the applications on my phone. This was a combination of what comes with WP7, what was provided by LG, what was provided by Vodafone and what I’d installed.

So, what has changed since then?

I’ve uninstalled 360 My Web. This really didn’t do anything other than take you to Vodafone’s web portal which, in itself, seems to be pretty un-useful to me, if that makes sense!

I’ve added Beezz, which has got a positive following for an alternative Twitter client. The new release has live tile updates so I’m looking forward to trying this out instead of the Twitter app.

I’ve added BigOven which is a free app that provides access to over 170,000 recipes … not that I cook myself but I do like having suggestions for my lovely wife Smile. I haven’t used the app much yet but quite like the feature where you can specify three ingredients (they suggest using up leftovers) and it finds recipes that use those ingredients.

I’ve removed GeoTrackster and gps. I didn’t really get to use either of these to any great degree. I’m not sure what I’m looking for in a GPS application but these didn’t seem to fit the bill. I may go back and take another look once I’ve firmed up my thoughts here.

I’ve removed Metro Scanner. I thought that I might get the opportunity to try it out when I was in London, but I didn’t. I may re-install it if I go down to London to an area that I’m less familiar with.

I’ve added ShopGlider to try out alongside the previously installed Shopping List. Both apps provide shopping list functionality but in different ways. One of the things that has attracted me to ShopGlider, although I haven’t got it to work yet, is you can update the list through their web site and it resyncs with the list on the phone. So, in theory, I ought to be able to update the shopping list whilst the wife is in Tesco Winking smile.

Finally, I’ve added Microsoft’s free Weather application. Although I like the way LG integrated weather reports into their ScanSearch application, it takes too long to start up that app and then tilt the phone towards the sky in order to get the report. Weather does what it says on the tin, as the saying goes. It gives you the weather report, initially for your current location but you can add either locations. In addition to a simple single icon summary, you can drill down to get more atmospheric information or get a forecast for the next 10 days!

So no major changes yet. I’m pretty happy with the apps that I had initially installed and continue to use. I’m looking forward to a planned update for Freda which should fix some of the bugs I’ve been hitting but I do enjoy reading books on my phone.

I really enjoy using Shazam. It provides such a great way to find out what music you can hear playing and then it acts as a memory bank for you – remembering all of the songs you’ve tagged. You can, from the app, go straight to the Zune marketplace to buy the track or album if you are so inclined. Really nice application that should be on everyone’s phone.

3 responses to “WP7 Apps on my phone – what’s in and what’s out

  1. appsguru December 12, 2010 at 1:33 am

    I tried ShopGlider too. It’s cool, you actually can update the list through their website while your wife is in store ! All you need to do it sign-up for the site and it syncs both ways.

  2. Philip Colmer December 12, 2010 at 11:30 am

    I’ve managed to get it to sync now although I’m not entirely sure that I fully understand their processes yet. It seems that the list of items that syncs to the app is the actual shopping list of items rather than, say, the starting list of household goods. I think that if I’ve understood that correctly, it starts to make sense because you would then use the web site as your primary all-singing, all-dancing master list and then just use the phone as the actual “this is what I’m going to buy” list.

  3. appsguru January 2, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Yes, I figured out thats the idea – what’s get synced to the phone is the store trip items, which makes sense. At the same time they promise to support multiple shopping lists in the next major release since many users are asking for it

Leave a Reply

