Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

WP7: Foibles and irritations

OK, so it is early days, we’re still in the honeymoon period, and I love technology. So why am I writing a post called “foibles and irritations”?

Well, even though Windows Phone 7, and my LG handset, are great products, they aren’t perfect. Everyone is going to have their own preferences for how things should be done, and their likes and dislikes. This post is going to be a simple list of things that I’ve come across that I think could do with some improvement, or I just want to make a comment about the “huh?” factor.

I’ll keep everything in this one post, updating it as I come across new points.

  • There aren’t any cursor keys on the on-screen keyboard. If you are editing text, e.g. in an email or a OneNote page, it means you’ve got to be pretty precise with your fingers otherwise the cursor will end up in the wrong place.
  • There isn’t a docking port on the current release of handsets. Not a big deal in and of itself, but it means that Windows Phone 7 isn’t going to take us down the iPhone road as it stands. By that, I mean we aren’t going to get the wealth of hardware add-ons such as docking stations, amplifiers, etc. That said, does the phone need a docking station or amplifier? It is, after all, a phone … isn’t it?

    If a docking port was added to the design, the logical position would be at the base of the phone. In which case, what would happen to the micro USB port? On my LG, that is on the right-hand side of the phone. Would it stay there, or move to the base, or be removed entirely? I hope it isn’t the latter – there is a benefit to having standards for connections and chargers. If there is room, I’d suggest moving it to the bottom, alongside the docking port. But, hey, I’m not a designer – hardware or otherwise – so what do I know? Smile

  • The “Me” hub. I’m sorry, but I just don’t get the point of this. I mean, let’s see what the hub gives us:
    • A picture of me. OK – I know what I look like.
    • What’s new. Errr … again, don’t I know what I’ve been up to?
    • … that’s it!

      So, just what is the point of this hub? Someone?

  • I keep on accidentally pressing the camera button, which is positioned on the right-hand side of the phone as you look at it, but quite close to the bottom of the handset, just where you grip the phone! Thankfully, I’m only pressing it briefly before realising what I’ve done, and so far I haven’t pressed it long enough for the camera mode to be activated. I’m not sure what I’d do about the button as I do appreciate having a physical button – and I love Microsoft’s reasoning and thought behind it – but it is getting in my way.

Feel free to add your own thoughts on how either the hardware or Windows Phone 7 could be improved.

One response to “WP7: Foibles and irritations

  1. Pingback: WP7: What I *love* « Musings of a PC

Leave a Reply

