Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

The dangers of using Public Wi-Fi?

I thought that I would fire up Windows Media Player so that I could listen to some music while finishing off the editing of my holiday diary. I’m currently connected to the Orlando International Airport free Wi-Fi service and this is what WMP is displaying:

image

Now I know that I selected Public as the network type when I connected. Did these other people? If they did, how do you stop WMP from making your content freely available?

Most of the computers report “Before you can play items in this library, you must first be allowed the access the library”. Others, however, when selected, start to connect to the PC … but then report “No files have been found on this remote library”.

So it would appear that no harm is done. However, information is being made available, e.g. the computer name, and that would give a starting point should someone want to start an attack.

Leave a Reply

