Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Windows 7, Virtual PC, Windows XP SP3 and joining the domain

I struggled to come up with a title that would adequately describe what I’ve been trying to resolve.
 
In a nutshell: running Windows 7 Enterprise RTM with Virtual PC RTM. Created a new VM and installed Windows XP SP3. By default it is configured to do network sharing with the host – there doesn’t seem to be any way of changing that as the only other option is "Internal", which isn’t what I want either.
 
Anyway, after joining the XP VM to the domain, I logged on with domain admin credentials but none of the GPOs seem to have been picked up. Cutting a long story short, I was getting application errors from Userenv of event ID 1054:
 
Windows cannot obtain the domain controller name for your computer network (An unexpected network error occurred). Group Policy processing aborted.
 
After enabling logging for Userenv processing, I discovered some lines in the log file that gave PingComputer returncode results of 11010. That led me to this KB article, which seemed to be suggesting a problem with the slow link detection mechanism that was preventing GPOs from being loaded. I created the two registry keys to essentially set the minimum transfer rate to 0, rebooted and, hey presto!, the GPOs are loading now.
 
I do have a slight concern that as we have a GPO that resets the slow link detection speed, I’m going to end up breaking my XP VM again … I’ll just have to wait and see.
 
It is rather concerning though. I’m also puzzled as to why this is happening, given that the host system isn’t having these problems.
 
 
Leave a Reply

