Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

3D TV … why?

If the title doesn’t already give it away, I’m not a great fan of the recent push towards 3D TV. Although technology is moving ahead at a great pace towards the principle of having a TV set that will produce 3D images without the need to wear glasses or goggles, I’ve only recently spent quite a lot of money on a high definition screen so I wouldn’t been looking to replace it again in the next 5-10 years.

Wearing glasses in order to “interpret” the 3D image just doesn’t work well for me. I already wear glasses to correct my vision and perching a 2nd pair of glasses in front of them is uncomfortable and doesn’t seem to give me a clear 3D experience. The last opportunity I had to try it was when there was a 3D episode of Chuck, broadcast on Virgin 1 (Freeview channel 20). I think I stuck it out for about 5 minutes tops before I gave up, removed the glasses and watched the rest of it without.

If you haven’t tried 3D recently, there is another opportunity coming up next week on Channel 4 (Freeview channel 4). They are broadcasting six programmes across the week in 3D:

  • The Queen in 3D (Monday 16th November, 9pm)
  • Derren Brown Presents the 3D Magic Spectacular (Monday 16th November, 10pm)
  • Flesh for Frankenstein (Wednesday 18th November, 12.40am)
  • Friday the 13th Part III in 3D (Friday 20th November, 10pm)
  • The Greatest Ever 3D Moments (Saturday 21st November, 9.20pm)
  • Hannah Montana & Miley Cyrus: Best of Both Worlds Concert (Sunday 22nd November, 3pm)

If you live in the UK and would like to watch these programmes, free 3D glasses are available from Sainsbury’s.

Leave a Reply

