Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Vista’s Reliability Monitor

I came across this feature while browsing through the Computer Management console. It is an easy-to-understand system that shows you when your system has had problems and calculates a stability index between 0 and 10, based on how (un)reliable it is.

I was hoping to be able to include a screenshot of the console but I can’t get the photo upload feature on Live Spaces to work under IE in Vista. If I figure it out, I’ll come back & edit this entry.

What the console shows is a horizontal timeline. If something failed on a date, an icon is shown (e.g. a white cross in a red circle) and the stability index goes down. If nothing failed on a date, the index starts to go back up. So far, the index on my system is 8.27 which, I suppose, isn’t too bad. Beneath the graph is a system stability report whose contents change depending on the date highlighted. In other words, you can click on a date to see what happened and the report lists those issues.

Since I built the system, there have been four application failures … and all of them have been Internet Explorer, so I hope that MS is paying attention to the problems and working on getting them fixed.

I haven’t seen this tool mentioned anywhere but I think it could be useful in the future when it comes to troubleshooting problems that staff are having with their PC.

Leave a Reply

