Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Vista Beta 2 diary: putting the computer on the domain

So the next step in testing Vista Beta 2 was to put the computer onto our domain.
 
First problem? Where the heck have Microsoft put the option to join a computer to the domain? It is probably my poor weary eyes, but I just did not see the "Change settings" link next to the computer name, domain and workgroup settings section of the window. It is a bit of a crowded window but once you know it is there, it is easy to find and you are then faced with the window we all know & love.
 
Anyway, the join was successful and the computer rebooted. It seemed to take a long time to start up but it finally displayed "Press CTRL + ALT + DELETE to log on". Hmmm … no GINA window any more. Initially, it wants to log me on as the local user that I was using prior to the domain join. Clicking on "Switch User" gives me that account and "Other User". Clicking on "Other User" gives me a blank username & password field.
 
So, you don’t get the drop-down of domain names any more. To log onto a domain other than the one that the computer is joined to, you need to enter <domain><username>. If you want to log on with a local account, you enter .<username>. Only time will tell whether or not users can cope with this …
 
After I logged on, the reason why the computer took so long to start became apparent – it had been installing managed software as part of the GPOs that we use. Hmm … must remember to create a WMI filter so that we can control what software gets deployed under XP and what gets deployed under Vista.
 
I don’t remember seeing anything on the screen saying that it was installing managed software, though. Not like the XP days …
 
McAfee seems to be working so far … it will probably blow up now that I’ve said that .
 
The other problem I’ve encountered is that the smartcard reader on the D800 isn’t working. The device has been recognised (and the driver is running) but I can’t get anything to see the card in the device.
 
To be honest, I’m not sure how much longer I’m going to spend time on this experiment. Without proper device and application support, we aren’t getting a true picture of what Vista is going to be like on current hardware, so I might be better off waiting until closer to RTM.
3 responses to “Vista Beta 2 diary: putting the computer on the domain

  1. Sai September 6, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    I had the same problem with a smart card reader not working. I solved it by manually starting the "Smart Card" service and setting the startup type to Automatic. You might want to try that.

Leave a Reply

