Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

XP Power Profiles oddity

I don’t know how many people are still reading my blog after Tech-Ed but if there are any XP gurus …
 
I’m using a fresh out-of-the-box Dell laptop. It is a member of our domain so it has picked up our GPOs, including one which loosens the permissions around power profiles so that normal users can change them.
 
So here is the oddity: logged in as myself, I can only see three profiles:
  • Maximum Battery (QuickSet)
  • Portable/Laptop
  • Home/Office Desk

If, however, I log on as administrator, I can see these additional profiles:

  • Presentation
  • Always On
  • Minimal Power Management
  • Max Battery
  • Maximum Performance (QuickSet)
  • Presentation (QuickSet)

Does anyone know why I can only see certain profiles whilst logged on as a normal user? Is it a permission issue with the registry settings around the power profiles?

Leave a Reply

