Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Tech-Ed 2006: SharePoint Designer – Create and Customise SharePoint Sites & Build Workflow-enabled Applications

For those who don’t know, SharePoint Designer 2007 is the replacement for FrontPage. I haven’t had a chance to use this tool at all yet, so I don’t know how much it has actually changed. The demos in this session didn’t really show much of Designer, so I still don’t know.
 
We saw dataviews being used, a bit of workflow, a bit of master page work and a very tiny bit of CSS. To be honest, I don’t know where the time went because I’m really not sure what we actually saw, which is a shame.
 
I would have liked to have seen some more around workflow as I think this is going to be a cornerstone, particularly for some of the work I want to do … preferably without any coding.
 
What was an interesting fact from this session is that there are going to be 40 application sites released for SharePoint V3. This is a great way for Microsoft to help the IT Pros get more out of the product.
Leave a Reply

