Musings of a PC

Thoughts about Windows, TV and technology in general

Doing more with WMI

It is quite amazing, sometimes, how you can overlook things.

WMI is a case in point. Windows Management Instrumentation has been part of Windows since Windows 2000 (I think – I’m sure someone will correct me if I’m wrong!) and I’d generally considered it as a read-only handle onto all sorts of loveliness about the goings on within a PC or server.

Then I read Bill Boswell’s article about getting notifications from WMI. What a neat feature and, if you follow his steps, you don’t even have to write any code. How? This is where the overlooking things comes in – Bill provides a link to the WMI Administrative Tools – a pack of tools that have been available on the MS site since 2002!

I can’t help but wonder what other wonderful things are being overlooked … ?

 

Leave a Reply

